University Governance

The Governance system at the University of Kansas has been described as a "shared" system of governance.  Article I, Section 9 University Senate Code describes the authority of the University Senate as follows: "Subject to and in accordance with the control of the Chancellor and the Board of Regents as provided by law, the University Senate is empowered to formulate such Rules and Regulations as it shall deem wise … and shall take such steps as it shall deem necessary for their implementation and administration. Affairs of the University which directly affect the entire Lawrence campus include, but are not limited to, academic procedures and policies (such as the requirements for graduation and degrees, the methods of evaluating academic work, and the standards of academic conduct of faculty and students) common to the College and all Schools, class and examination schedules, the calendar, the libraries, campus-wide activities and events, the role of the University in public affairs, participation in organization and administration, the framing and execution of long-range plans, decisions regarding existing or prospective resources, and fiscal affairs ."

There are four constituent Governance Senates: The Faculty Senate, the Student Senate, the Unclassified Senate, and the University Support Staff Senate.


Committee on Post Tenure Review
Documents and Draft Policy


Faculty Preference Form for FY2014 Governance Committees

Meeting dates, agenda and approved minutes for University / Faculty Senate Executive Committee and University / Faculty Senate meetings FY 2013

Pending University Senate FY2013

Pending Faculty Senate FY2013

University Governance Leaders 2012-13

University Senate
University Senate-members
University Senate Executive committee members and

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate members and
Faculty Executive committee members and

Search Governance Minutes

University Governance Committees, Boards and Task Forces
(Membership, charges, minutes and final reports)


Exemptions from the Restricted Research Policy

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).