About RISE


The Haskell Research Initiative for Scientific Enhancement (RISE) is a National Institute of Health (NIH) supported program at Haskell Indian Nations University that promotes diversity in biomedical research. In order to introduce and retain American Indian students in the biomedical sciences, the program provides a Learning Center at Haskell and research experiences within laboratories of KU faculty. All students are welcome at the RISE learning Center. Students who are accepted into the research program must be seeking an undergraduate degree in a field that has relevance to the biomedical sciences and have an interest in pursuing a career in biomedical research.


For questions or more information about the program, please contact:

Becky Welton
RISE Program Coordinator
Haskell Indian Nations University
155 Indian Avenue
133 Ross Hall
Lawrence, KS 66046

Phyllis Schrader
RISE Program Assistant
Haskell Indian Nations University
155 Indian Avenue
136 Ross Hall
Lawrence, KS 66046

To contact other Office for Diversity in Science Training support staff or administration, please visit the ODST Contact page.

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).