Manage Membership email us

 Biennial Conference


We are very pleased to announce that Aarhus University in Aarhus, Denmark will be hosting the Public Management Research Conference (PMRC), provisionally scheduled for June 22-24, 2016. Professor Simon Calmar Andersen is the 2016 PMRC site coordinator and is working with a planning committee that includes six other faculty members of the Department of Political Science and Government.

“The selection committee had to choose between multiple very strong proposals, but Aarhus is an excellent choice,” said PMRA President Fran Berry. “Aarhus faculty have been highly engaged with the PMRC and JPART, and Aarhus is an idyllic college campus to visit during the summer.”

The site selection committee members were Karsten Vrangbaek, Chris Skelcher, Tina Nabatchi, Soonhee Kim, and Stephanie Moulton (chair).

Please stay tuned at the PMRA website ( and twitter (@pmrajpart) for new information on the 2016 PMRC as well as details on the 2017 PMRC which is being hosted by the School of Government at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

PMRC 2015: Call for Proposals

The Call for Proposals for the 2015 the Public Management Research Association (PMRA) Conference is announced. The conference will take place in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA June 11 – 13, 2015. There also will be a number of pre-conference sessions and workshops on June 9 – 10, 2015. The conference will be hosted by the Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota.

The program committee for the 2015 conference welcomes paper, panel, and poster proposals that feature high quality conceptual, qualitative, or quantitative research. In addition, the committee welcomes proposals for pre-conference sessions and workshops. All proposals will be peer reviewed. Paper, panel, and poster proposals will be blind reviewed.

In general, conference themes will emerge from the proposals submitted. However, we also believe two important themes merit particular attention at this time in the field’s development. We invite consideration of the following two themes in proposed papers, panels, posters, and pre-conference sessions:

The relationship of public management with democracy and citizenship. Relevant topics might include, for example:

  • Performance management and public values
  • Civic engagement and public participation
  • Co-production
  • The proper role of government

The challenges of integrating different kinds of theoretical and empirical approaches to scholarship. Examples might include:

  • Papers or sessions that exemplify rigorous blending of theoretical and empirical work in innovative ways
  • Analyses of significant public management challenges and how theory and empirical research can be used to address them.

The Call for Proposals and conference website will be found at:

All proposals for papers, panels, posters, and pre-conference workshops should be submitted via the website.

University of North Carolina School of Government Selected to Host the 14th Biennial (2017) Meeting of the Public Management Research Conference

Although it may be too early to book your plane tickets, we are very pleased to announce that the School of Government at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill will be hosting the 14th Biennial Public Management Research Conference (PMRC) in the summer of 2017. The 2017 PMRC site co-coordinators will be Professors Leisha DeHart-Davis and Rick Morse, who are working with a planning committee that includes four other faculty members of the School of Government. The UNC School of Government was one of four PMRA member institutions to submit exceptionally strong proposals to host the 2017 conference. The site selection committee members—including Anna Amirkhanyan, John Bryson, Carolyn Heinrich (chair), Larry O’Toole, Chris Skelcher and Brad Wright—followed a detailed rating system and engaged in considerable deliberations to select the 2017 PMRC host. The criteria considered included: (1) the tentative program agenda, pre-conference workshops and proposed conference dates; (2) the number of conference participants that could be accommodated; (3) conference facilities and accommodations; (4) registration fees and institutional commitments and capacity; (5) transportation options and costs; (6) conference website and registration provisions; (7) prior institutional experience in hosting conferences, and (8) distinctive features such thematic elements; hospitality, keynotes or other special features.

“We are thrilled to be hosting the world’s leading public management researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill,” said 2017 conference organizer Leisha DeHart-Davis, Associate Professor of Public Administration and Government. “We look forward to showcasing the School of Government’s model of engaged scholarship that marries public management theory with practice.”

Please stay tuned for future details on the 2017 PMRC in North Carolina. Any questions about the PMRC 2017 site selection process or decision can be directed to Carolyn Heinrich at

2015 Public Management Conference – University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is pleased to host the 2015 Public Management Research Association (PMRA) Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

We are pleased to welcome you and other PMRA members to the Twin Cities campus of the University of Minnesota for the 13th Biennial PMRA Conference. The Humphrey School ranks among the top professional schools of public affairs at public universities in the country. The School is widely recognized for its role in examining public issues and shaping public policy at the local, state, national, and international levels, and for providing leadership and management expertise to public and nonprofit organizations. The conference will take place in early June of 2015.

Locations of previous conferences:

  • 2013 - University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • 2011 - Syracuse University
  • 2009 - Ohio State University
  • 2007 - University of Arizona
  • 2005 - University of Southern California
  • 2003 - Georgetown University
  • 2001 - Indiana University
  • 1999 - Texas A&M University
  • 1997 - University of Georgia
  • 1995 - University of Kansas
  • 1993 - University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • 1991 - Syracuse University