Home Image


Harnessing Microbiology to Overcome 21st Century Challenges




October 25th 11:30 - 1

152 Smissman (KU) - 2004 Orr-Major (KUMC)

Susan Egan - Professor, Molecular Biosciences

"Discovery and Early Characterization of Inhibitors for Virulence-Associated AraC Bacterial Transcription Factors: Experiences with and Outcomes of High-Throughput Screening for Antimicrobials"

September 27th 2:30 - 3:30

152 Smissman

Jeff Aube - Professor, Medicinal Chemistry

"Chemistry Support of Infectious Disease Research at KU"

August 23rd - 11:30-1 152 Smissman
Clayton Huntley - Program Officer for Antimicrobial Resistance in the Division of Microbiology at the NIH/NIAID will discuss funding mechanisms and outlook for NIH support in Antimicrobial Discovery and Development


Microbiology is a prominent and comprehensive discipline that is fundamental to the life sciences and has tremendous influence and potential in many scientific fields. Microbiology research includes infectious diseases and immune responses, alternative methods for energy production and waste recycling, and new drug development - among many other areas. The University of Kansas and the Medical Center employs and supports many faculty members with Microbiology research in these areas and are focused on solving major challenges in public health and energy.


The University of Kansas Program in Microbiology is a trans-disciplinary, inter-campus program committed to facilitating and promoting Microbiology related research. This is primarily accomplished through enhanced science communication and support for new and existing collaborative research projects.

Affiliate Members



The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).