Life Span Institute - Administration

Life Span Institute Administration is led by the LSI Director and includes staff members with different specialties who provide services that lend cohesion to LSI. The associate director for finance and planning oversees the receipt and disbursement of State and Federal funds and ensures that all funds are disbursed according to regulations. Administration also assists investigators and staff with contractual negotiations, budget projections, oversight of the institutional promotion process and liaison with university units responsible for purchasing, human resources and other financial transactions. In addition, Administration provides assistance in dispute resolution, monitoring for compliance with Federal, State and local laws as well as space allocation and monitoring. An administrative officer and various assistants handle telephone traffic, mail and University communications, greet visitors and respond to public inquiries about the work of the Life Span Institute.

Life Span Institute Organization Chart


John Colombo
phone 864-4295

Jessica Black-Magnussen
Associate Director, Project Development
phone 864-0597

Raymond Cheung
Assistant Director, Technology
phone 785-864-8091
See Information Technology

Rob Hileman
Office Manager
phone 864-4295

Lesa Hoffman
Scientific Director, Research Design & Analysis
phone 785-864-0638

Kandace Fleming
Assistant Director, Research Design & Analysis
phone 785-864-0742

Jennifer Myers
Associate Director, Finance & Planning
phone 785-864-0583

Karen Salisbury Henry
Associate Director, Communications
phone 785-864-0756



Send corrections/comments/questions to

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).