Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards
Life Span Institute

Calendar Calendar
Directory Directory
Map and Directions Maps and Directions

Friends of the Life Span Institute

Randy and Kristi Billinger
Ron and Pam Borchardt
Scott and Julie Borchardt
Bill and Nancy Brady
Dan Biles and Amy McCart
Mike Cataldo
John Colombo and Dale Walker
David and Peggy Ekerdt
Steve Fawcett and Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett
Greater Kansas City Community Foundation: Laura McKnight, President & CEO
Charlie Greenwood and Judy Carta
Vance and Marilyn Hall
Frances Degen Horowitz
Todd Little and Patricia Hawley
Lee McLean
Virginia Merrill
Bob Mirman
Terrance and Judi Paul
Mabel Rice
Dick and Muriel Saunders
Dick Schiefelbusch
Steve and Carolyn Schroeder
Dale Slusser and Sherry Fowler
The Sosland Foundation: Debbie Sosland-Edleman, Executive Director
Joe and Rita Spradlin
John and Linda Stewart
Rud and Ann Turnbull
John and Patty Turner
April Waldron
Frances Waldron
Gary Waldron and Sunny Foster
Steve Warren and Eva Horn
Mike and Kathryn Wehmeyer
Bruce and Melinda Wetherby
Glen and Nancy White
Nikki Wolf
David and Dee Yoder
Ed and Mary Ann Zamarripa

Friends of the LIfe Span Institute

Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards

The Friends of Life Span Institute Investigator Awards were established in 2012 to recognize outstanding new and mid-career LSI investigators. Each award winner receives a $7500 award to further their research. The awards are for Principal Investigators on externally-funded LSI research projects who are evaluated on the nature and quality of their research record and the potential impact, or realized impact, of their work in generating new knowledge or contributing to translational science in keeping with the mission of the Life Span Institute.


Michael Wehmeyer

Michael Wehmeyer, a member of the Special Education faculty and Director of the Beach Center on Disability, was named a winner of the 2014 Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards. Wehmeyer's research has been concerned with the concept and application of promoting self-determination of students with disabilities, particularly those with intellectual disability, most recently in developing and validating measures of support needs for adults and children with disabilities.

Jonathan Brumberg

Jonathan Brumberg is a member of the Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences and Disorders faculty. He was selected as one of two winners of the 2014 Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards. He is interested in understanding the neural mechanisms underlying speech production, through electrophysiological and behavioral studies. He is also interested in studying the role of interactive computer programs and interfaces in speech research and rehabilitation, specifically those employing artificial speech synthesis for studying speech production in speakers with and without impairment.


Nancy Brady, Ph.D.

Nancy Brady, who is a member of the Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences and Disorders faculty, was selected for the Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator award for 2013. Brady's research deals with understanding the earliest phase of communication development and applying this understanding to benefit individuals with the most severe disabilities through developing assessment tools and interventions.


Kathryn M. Bigelow, Ph.D.

Kathryn Bigelow, who is an affiliated investigator with the Juniper Gardens Children's Project also was recognized in 2013 as one of two Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator awardees. Bigelow's research interests lie in the development, evaluation and translation of evidence-based interventions for parents and caregivers aimed at promoting positive interactions and improving child developmental outcomes.




Yolanda Jackson, Ph.D.

Yo Jackson, who is a member of the Department of Clinical Child Psychology faculty was selected to receive the Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards for 2012. Her research interests include examining why some children are more resilient than others after experiencing maltreatment.



Jay Buzhardt, Ph.D.

Jay Buzhardt, who is an investigator affiliated with the Juniper Gardens Children’s Project was selected to receive the Friends of the Life Span Institute Investigator Awards for 2012. His research interests include deploying technology for interventions in autism and early literacy.  


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).