Wamelink to be president-elect of Housing Association

LAWRENCE — Jennifer Wamelink, associate director of residence life for the University of Kansas Department of Student Housing, has been elected president-elect of her professional association, the Upper Midwest Region of the Association of College and University Housing Officers.

UMR-ACUHO serves student housing officers in seven states. Wamelink will be president-elect in 2012 school year and president of the regional association in 2013. Jocelyn Crist, McCollum Hall Complex Director, was elected to serve as a member-at-large on the Executive Committee.

Wamelink and Crist were elected during the 500-person UMR-ACUHO convention in Topeka in early November. Wamelink served as co-host, with Natalie Timson, KU assistant director of residence life, for that conference.


The three major concerns to be addressed through UMR-ACUHO are the need for professional development opportunities for housing and food service personnel; the desire to facilitate more effective use of the resources in the region through the sharing of ideas and information about common concerns, and the wish to improve communication with and receive support from the national ACUHO organization.

ACUHO-I is the Association of College and University Housing Officers-International. ACUHO-I members believe in developing exceptional residential experiences at colleges, universities and other post-secondary institutions around the world. The members include thousands of housing professionals from more than 900 colleges and universities in 22 different countries, who serve approximately 1.8 million students worldwide.