Political science students honored with scholarships, honor society induction

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Political Science Department honored its top students with awards and induction into Pi Sigma Alpha during a ceremony April 19 at the Adams Alumni Center.

Twenty-five students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.4 for undergraduates.  For graduate students, the average must be at least 3.5. Neither may have a course grade lower than a B in any Political Science course.

The inductees are:

•    Keehyun Ahn, graduate student from Korea
•    Charles Allen,  junior from Shawnee Mission
•    Philip Barone, senior from Overland Park
•    Svetla Ben-Itzhak, graduate student from Manhattan
•    Austin Bussing, senior from Houston, Texas
•    James Castle, senior from Edmond, Okla.
•    Dan Chen, graduate student from People’s Republic of China
•    Shannon Collins, junior from Fairfax Station, Va.
•    Kevin Frantz, senior from Lawrence
•    Alex Jorgensen, graduate student from Mandal, Norway
•    Grace Lancaster, senior from Topeka
•    Mollie Moravac, senior from Shawnee
•    John Page, junior from Lenexa
•    Kyle Patterson, senior from Andover
•    Jacob Peterson, junior from Osage City
•    Jake Robinson, junior from Oberlin
•    Michael Rosenblum, senior from Overland Park
•    Keri Schreiner, senior from Shelbyville, Ky.
•    Lucas Strubing, junior from Asuncion, Paraguay
•    William Suarez, senior from Lenexa
•    Juan Urbano, graduate student from Brownsville, Texas
•    Vania Velasco Guachalla, senior from La Paz City, Bolivia
•    Kristopher Velasco, junior from Wamego
•    Corrinne Viola, junior from Topeka
•    Julian Viso, junior from Lenexa

The Political Science Department provides cash awards with no restrictions and scholarships that provide tuition assistance.  The awards and scholarships presented were:

— The Ethan P. Allen Pi Sigma Alpha Award to outstanding graduating seniors majoring in political science.  The recipients are:
•    Margarita Caulfield from Russell
•    Keri Schreiner from Shelbyville, Ky.
•    Joshua Dean from Overland Park
— The Emmett L. Bennett Scholarship to an outstanding junior majoring in political science.  The recipient is:
•    Quinn Ried from Lawrence
— The Eldon Fields Award to outstanding seniors majoring in political science.  The recipients are:
•    William Suarez from Lenexa
•    Kyle Patterson from Andover
•    Lucas Strubing from Asuncion, Paraguay

— The Elizabeth and Carl Gustafson Scholarships ranging from $ 500 to $4,000 to outstanding political science undergraduates.  The recipients are:
•    Kristopher Velasco from Wamego
•    Samuel Hofmeier from Wichita,
•    Tyler Childress from Coffeyville
•    Taylor Huhn from Overland Park
•    Simon Gottlieb from Golden Valley, Minn.
•    Laura Weaver from Shawnee
•    Erin Heckethorn from Cheney
•    Jacklyn Baillergeon from Lansing
•    Suhayla Sibaai from Wichita,

___For the first time this year, the Allan J. Cigler Academic Enrichment Award was presented in the amount of $600.  This fund is made possible by former students of Cigler, professor of political science, who wished to recognize him for his continued academic service.  The recipient is:
•    Austin Bussing from Houston

— The Joseph P. Harris Fellowship in the amount of $6,000 awarded to an outstanding doctoral student.  The recipient is
•    Matt Miles from Lawrence

—The Walter Thompson Scholarships, ranging from $1,275 to $3,000, awarded to  political science graduate students.  The recipients are:
•    Dan Chen from the People’s Republic of China
•    Laura Dean from Lawrence
•    Brian Hanson from Lincoln, Neb.
•    Chris Kroh from Kansas City, Kan.
•    Matt Miles from Lawrence
•    Saatvika Rai from Bangalore, India
•    Thomas Ringenberg from Springfield, Mo
•    Juan Urbano from Brownsville, Texas
•    Lidiya Zubytska from Lawrence

All of the scholarship funds are managed by KU Endowment, the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.