KU bowling team headed to nationals

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas men’s bowling team is headed to the 2012 United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Team Championships.

The KU team is ranked 19th in the nation after completing the regular season. The championships will be April 18-22 in Lincoln, Neb.

This is the second consecutive year that KU will be competing in the National Championship. The KU team won the national championship in 2004.

“We did well last year tying for seventh in the national tournament, but we are returning our entire team from last year. That being said, our expectations are high going in, and our team wholly believes that we have a shot to win the title this year as long as we do what we need to do and execute shots.” said team member and captain Matt Washford.

The field of 16 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams was determined at sectional qualifiers at four sites, with the top four teams in each division advancing. One other Kansas school, Wichita State University, will compete with KU for the championship.

“Going into sectionals with five seniors, I felt confident that we would make the cut to qualify for nationals,” said second-year coach Burton Gepford. “This year we will not be going into nationals blind since we competed in nationals last year. We will use that experience, hard work and determination to make a run at this year’s national championship.”

Watch the event via livestream on YouTube or via BowlTV, and see updates on the team's Facebook page.

Members of the bowling team are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high school.

  • Alex Hardman, Lawrence, senior in marketing and finance; John and Amy Hardman; Free State High School.
  • Jake Feurer, Olathe, senior in mechanical engineering; Dennis and Patti Feurer; Olathe South High School
  • Matt Washford, senior in accounting; Mark and Debby Washford; Olathe Northwest High School
  • Chris Flowers, Liberal, sophomore in films and media; Jeff Flowers; Liberal High School
  • Nicholas Campfield, Topeka, junior in civil engineering; Michelle Moreno; Highland Park High School
  • Justin Thompson, Topeka, senior in exercise science; James and Vicky Thompson; Shawnee Heights High School
  • Kyle Turner, Topeka, junior in supply chain management; Larry and Debra Turner; Seaman High School
  • Matt Bellus, Eden Prairie, Minn.; senior in physics; Peter Bellus and Jeanne Zetah; Eden Prairie High School.