KU announces promotions, awards of tenure

LAWRENCE — Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little has approved promotion and the award of tenure where indicated for the following individuals at the University of Kansas:

TO FULL PROFESSOR (*with tenure)

  • Elizabeth Asiedu, economics
  • Paul Atchley, psychology
  • Cory Berkland, chemical and petroleum engineering and pharmaceutical chemistry
  • Xue Wen Chen, electrical engineering and computer science
  • William Comer, Slavic languages and literatures
  • Derrick Darby, philosophy
  • Michael Detamore, chemical and petroleum engineering
  • Arienne Dwyer, anthropology
  • Iris Smith Fischer, English
  • Barry Fitzgerald, design
  • Bryan Foster, ecology and evolutionary biology and senior scientist, Kansas Biological Survey
  • Joseph Harrington, English
  • Erik Herron, political science
  • Beth Innocenti, communication studies
  • Kenneth Irby, English
  • Stephen Kapp, social welfare
  • Neal Kingston*, psychology and research in education
  • Thomas Prisinzano, medicinal chemistry
  • Eric Rath, history
  • Atanas Stefanov, mathematics
  • Zhongquan Zheng, aerospace engineering

TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR with TENURE (+mandatory review year)

  • Shawn Alexander, African and African American studies
  • Leslie Bennett+, theatre
  • Shawn Bitters+, visual art
  • So-Min Cheong+, geography
  • Dale Dorsey, philosophy
  • Robert Fiorentino+, linguistics
  • Mugur Geana+, journalism
  • Tanya Golash-Boza, sociology and American studies
  • Scott Hefty+, molecular biosciences
  • Lena Hileman+, ecology and evolutionary biology
  • Robert Hurst+, film and media studies
  • Scott Jenkins, philosophy
  • Michael Johnson+, chemistry
  • Bonnie Johnson+, urban planning
  • Stuart Macdonald+, molecular biosciences
  • Robert Moyle+, ecology and evolutionary biology and associate curator, Biodiversity Institute
  • Minae Mure, chemistry
  • Mariya Omelicheva, political science
  • Edward Peltier+, civil, environmental and architectural engineering
  • Amy Rossomondo+, Spanish & Portuguese
  • Mikhail Rubin+, chemistry
  • Tarun Sabarwal, economics
  • Steven Schrock+, civil, environmental and architectural engineering
  • Emma Scioli+, classics
  • Jeremy Shellhorn+, design
  • Liang Tang+, molecular biosciences
  • Dave Tell, communication studies
  • Ketty Wong-Cruz+, music
  • Stephanie Zelnick, music
  • Hui Zhao, physics and astronomy

TENURE ONLY – CLAS & SCHOOLS (+mandatory review year)

  • Norman Akers+, visual art
  • James Backes, pharmacy practice
  • Honglian Shi, pharmacology and toxicology


  • Scott McEathron, University Libraries
  • Lyn Wolz, University Libraries


  • Steven Case, Center for Science Education, to associate research professor
  • Greg Ludvigson, Kansas Geological Survey, to senior scientist
  • Daryl Mellard, Center for Research on Learning, to research professor
  • Howard Willis, Life Span Institute, associate research professor
  • Amy McCart, Life Span Institute, associate research professor