Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center announces February graduates

YODER — Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt congratulated 37 new law enforcement officers during their graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center on Feb. 10.

The new officers were members of the 216th basic training class at the center. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Continuing Education.

The officers, who began their training Oct. 17, represented 30 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas. They are as follows:

  • Ottawa Police Department: Samuel Alsbrooks; patrol officer; Ottawa 
  • Rooks County Sheriff's Office: Travis Bacon; deputy; Stockton
  • Inman Police Department: Devin Berman; patrol officer; Inman
  • Garden City Police Department: Elena Billings; patrol officer; Garden City
  • Junction City Police Department: Paul Bishop; police officer; Junction City
  • Leavenworth Police Department: Oscar Cole; patrol officer; Leavenworth
  • Emporia State University Police Department: Jerry Cook; patrol officer; Emporia
  • Liberal Police Department: Jacob Cosper; patrol officer; Liberal
  • Hill City Police Department: Shaun Dooley; patrol officer; Hill City
  • Salina Police Department: Gage Cranmer; patrol officer; Salina
  • Liberal Police Department: Brent Dunlap; patrol officer; Liberal
  • Harper County Sheriff’s Office: Chad Hacker; deputy; Anthony
  • El Dorado Police Department: Patrick Hill; patrol officer; El Dorado
  • Butler County Sheriff’s Office: David Hobbs; deputy; El Dorado
  • Chase County Sheriff’s Office: Aaron Hoffman; deputy; Cottonwood
  • Liberal Police Department: Stacy Johnson; patrol officer; Liberal
  • Harvey County Sheriff’s Office: Dustin Jones; deputy; Newton
  • Russell County Sheriff’s Office: Nathan Keener; deputy; Russell
  • Liberal Police Department: Brett Lawrence; police officer; Liberal
  • Reno County Sheriff’s Office: Cody Lobban; deputy; Hutchinson
  • Lyons Police Department: Nick LoBurgio; officer; Lyons
  • Garden City Police Department: Tiffany McDermott; patrol officer; Garden City
  • Meade Police Department: Andrew Meairs; patrol officer; Meade
  • Derby Police Department: Edward Mora; patrol officer; Derby
  • Greenwood County Sheriff's Office: Gary Murphy; deputy; Eureka
  • Metro Topeka Airport Authority: Matt Narsh; officer; Topeka
  • KU Med Police Department: Michael Oude-Alink; patrol officer; Kansas City
  • Grandview Plaza Police Department: Jay Rector; patrol officer; Grandview Plaza
  • Butler County Sheriff’s Office: Paul Sanders; deputy; El Dorado
  • Rice County Sheriff’s Office: Joseph Smith; deputy; Lyons
  • Reno County Sheriff's Office: Andrew Soule; deputy; Hutchinson
  • Plainville Police Department: Dan Spears; patrol officer; Plainville
  • Riley County Police Department: Logan Swartz; patrol officer; Manhattan
  • Finney County Sheriff’s Office: Davin West; deputy; Garden City
  • Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Office: Justin Young; deputy; Westmoreland
  • Leavenworth Police Department: Jacqueline Walden; patrol officer; Leavenworth
  • Riley County Police Department: Amy Wilburn; patrol officer; Manhattan

Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve the increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.

Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

About 300 officers enroll annually in the 14-week basic training program. In 2010, the center offered continuing education and specialized training to more than 5,600 Kansas officers. Funding for the training center is generated from court docket fees from municipal and state courts. No funds from the state’s general revenue are used to operate the center.