William Allen White Foundation


More Information

William Allen White Children's Book Award

The William Allen White Children's Book Award encourages the children of Kansas to read and enjoy good books. The award was established by Emporia State University in 1952 by children's literature specialist Ruth Garver Gagliardo to honor the memory of William Allen White.

Authors are chosen by a book selection committee, which includes
representatives from Kansas state educational organizations and groups that are concerned with children's issues. Children then vote to select their favorite book from the Master List created by the committee. In 2001, the executive committee began presenting awards in two categories - third through fifth grade, and sixth through eighth grade.

Children's Book Award Recipients

Home | Awards | Journalism School | Email