Initiative for Maximizing Student Diversity


Best Wishes to the following IMSD Scholars who will be entering Ph.D. Programs in the Fall of 2013!

Lauren Beesley, Biostatistics Training in Cancer Research, Department of Biostatistics, School of Public Health, University of Michigan.

Matthew Behymer, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Kansas.

Kim Box, Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University.

Dagoberto Heredia, Department of Psychology, Texas A&M University, with support from a Diversity Graduate Fellowship.

Deena Rennerfeldt, Department of Biological Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, with support from an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  

Rodolfo Torres, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley, with support from an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship and a Chancellor Scholarship.


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.