Skip redundant pieces
Educational Opportunity Programs

Staff

Safety

Tools

Contact Us

Phone: (785) 864-3415
Fax: (785) 864-0399

Center for Educational Opportunity Programs
305 J.R. Pearson Hall
1122 West Campus Road
Lawrence, KS 66045

Alphabetical listing of staff
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 
Center for Educational Opportunity Programs
305 J.R. Pearson Hall
1122 West Campus Road
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3415
Fax: (785) 864-0399
 
Ngondi Kamatuka, Ph.D.
Director
(785) 864-3401
kamatuka@ku.edu
Pam Morris
Budget Manager
pmorris@ku.edu
 return to top 

Academic Programs for EXcellence (APEX)

7 Strong Hall
1450 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3971
Fax: (785) 864-5188

 
Maritza Machado-Williams, Ph.D.
Director
mmachado@ku.edu
 
 return to top 
 
APEX GEAR UP
1750 S. 37th Ct.
Kansas City, KS 66106
Phone: (913) 432-0435
Fax: (913) 432-0847
   
Maritza Machado-Williams
Director
mmachado@ku.edu
 
Verneta L. White
Program Coordinator/Associate Director
vlw@ku.edu
 
 return to top 
 
Educational Opportunity Centers

Gateway Tower II, Suite 235
400 State Avenue
Kansas City, KS 66101

Phone:(913) 233-1124
   
Kimberly Morgan
Director
kmorgan1@ku.edu
Kathy Bryant
Advisor
kdbryant@ku.edu
Caryl Neinas
Program Assistant
cneinas@ku.edu

Willie Amison
Advisor
whipper@ku.edu

 return to top 
 
GEAR UP
400 State Ave., Suite 105
Kansas City, Kansas 66101
Phone: (913) 321-5567
Fax: (913) 321-5564
 
Lisa Henderson
Project Director
lhenderson@ku.edu
 
Vernita White
Site Coordinator - Washington Cluster
vlw@ku.edu
Paul Trana
Site Coordinator - Washington Cluster
ptrana@ku.edu
Tonya Waller
Project Coordinator - Harmon Cluster
tawaller@ku.edu
LaCretia Wooten
Site Coordinator - Harmon Cluster
LaCretia.wooten@ku.edu
Korri Hall
Site Coordinator - Harmon Cluster
kohall@ku.edu
Karin Chang-Rios
Evaluator, GEAR UP Data Utilization Study
kcr@ku.edu
Stephani Howarter
Evaluation, Harmon Cluster
sschmidt@ku.edu
Meghan Ecker
Evaluation
meecker@ku.edu
 return to top 
 
Harvest of Hope Leadership Academy
1122 West Campus Road, Room 305
Lawrence, KS 66045

Phone: (877) 860-8180 (toll-free)
Fax: (785) 864-5212
Email: hhla@ku.edu
 
Stacy Mendez
Program Coordinator
(785) 864-7027
smendez@ku.edu
Alex Hernandez-Castro
Bilingual Recruitment Coordinator
(785) 864-8195
iamalex@ku.edu
 return to top  
 
Math & Science Center
Joseph R. Pearson Hall
1122 West Campus Road, Room 305
Lawrence, Kansas 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3415
Toll Free: (800) 842-5232
 
Hong Chuong
Director
(785) 864-9621
hchuong@ku.edu
Pam Morris
Office Manager
(785) 864-2614
pmorris@ku.edu
 return to top 
 
 
McNair Scholars Program
305 Joseph R. Pearson Hall
1122 West Campus Road
Lawrence, Kansas 66045
Phone (785) 864-3412
Fax: (785) 864-0399
mcnair@ku.edu
 
Mulubrhan Negash
Director
leyesus1@ku.edu
Linda LaPierre
Office Manager
(785) 864-9624
lapierre@ku.ed
 return to top 
 
Supportive Educational Services (SES)
Strong Hall, Room 7
1450 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3971
Fax: (785) 864-5188
 
Maritza Machado-Williams, Ph.D.
Director of APEX
mmachado@ku.edu
Laurie Ramirez
Assistant Director
lramirez@ku.edu
Gretchen Heasty
Program Coordinator/Associate Director
gheasty@ku.edu
Rachel Marlett
Retention Specialist
rmarlett@ku.edu
Lauren Coleman
Academic Coordinator
lecoleman@ku.edu
Melody Lawrence
Office Manager
melodyl@ku.edu
 return to top 
 
Talent Search/TRIO
Gateway Tower II, Suite 103
400 State Ave.
Kansas City, Kansas 66101
Phone (913) 342-9823
Fax: (913) 371-8558
Email: kutalentsearch@ku.edu
 
Rebecca Dukstein
Director
dukstein@ku.edu
 
Kellee Harris
Academic Advisor
kkharris@ku.edu
Lisa Martinez
Program Assistant
lemartnz@ku.edu
Danielle Golon
Program Assistant
danielle.golon@gmail.com
Megan Gilles
College Access Challenge Grant Coordinator
meg159@ku.edu
Himee Kamatuka
Program Mentor
hkamatuka@gmail.com
Melissa Villalobus
Program Mentor
melissa1308@yahoo.com
Jacque Flowers
Program Mentor
jflowers@ku.edu
 
 return to top   
 
Upward Bound Program
305 Joseph R. Pearson Hall
1122 West Campus Road
Lawrence, Kansas 66045
Phone (785) 864-3415
Toll Free (877) 842-5232
Fax: (785) 864-0399
 
Zsashamica Slappy
Assistant Director
(785) 864-9686
zslappy@ku.edu
 
Mike Conley
Academic Advisor
(785) 864-3452
emconley@ku.edu
Emmitt Carter
Academic Advisor
(785) 864-3400
eugene1@ku.edu
 return to top 
 
Veterans Upward Bound
Gateway Tower II, Suite 105
400 State Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66101
Phone: (913) 321-5512
Toll Free: (877) 446-9337
Fax: (913) 321-5564
 
Julia O’Dell
Director
jodell@ku.edu
Lisa Schley
Academic Advisor
lschley@ku.edu
Martha Rice
Academic Services Coordinator
mrrice@ku.edu

Rick Edgington
Academic Services Coordinator
rae0955@ku.edu

Anita Kolb
Employment Services Coordinator
a694k480@ku.edu
Art Schaaf
Recruiting and Retention Advisor
aschaaf@ku.edu
 return to top   
   

Alphabetical listing of staff

Amison, Willie
Advisor, Educational Opportunity Centers
(785) 864-9668
whipper@ku.edu

Bryant, Kathy
Advisor, Educational Opportunity Centers
(913) 233-1124
kdbryant@ku.edu

Carter, Emmitt
Advisor, Upward Bound
(785) 864-3400
eugene1@ku.edu

Chuong, Hong
Director, Math & Science Center
(785) 864-9621
hchuong@ku.edu


Coleman, Lauren
Academic Coordinator, Supportive Educational Services
(715) 864-3971

Conley, Mike
Academic Advisor, Upward Bound
(785) 864-3452
emconley@ku.edu

Dukstein, Rebecca
Director, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823
dukstein@ku.edu


Ecker, Meghan
Evaluation, GEAR UP
meecker@ku.edu

Edgington, Rick
Academic Services Coordinator, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
rae0955@ku.edu

Flowers, Jacque
Program Mentor, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823

jflowers@ku.edu

Gilles, Megan
College Access Challenge Grant Coordinator, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823

meg159@ku.edu


Golon, Danielle
Program Assistant, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823

danielle.golon@gmail.com


Hall, Korri
Site Coordinator, Harmon Cluster, GEAR UP
(913) 321-5567
kohall@ku.edu

Harris, Kellee

Academic Advisor, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823

kkharris@ku.edu

Heasty, Gretchen
Program Coordinator/Associate Director, Supportive Educational Services
(785) 864-7269
gheasty@ku.edu


Henderson, Lisa
Project Director, GEAR UP
(913) 321-5567
lhenderson@ku.edu


Hernandez-Castro, Alex
Bilingual Recruitment Coordinator, Harvest of Hope Leadership Academy
(785) 864-8195
iamalex@ku.edu


Howarter, Stephani
Evaluation, Harmon Cluster, GEAR UP
(785) 864-4430
sschmidt@ku.edu

Jackson, Clarissa
Academic Advisor, Upward Bound
(785) 864-2615
jacksonc@ku.edu

Kamatuka, Himee
Program Mentor, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823

hkamatuka@gmail.com

Kamatuka, Ngondi, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Educational Opportunity Programs
(785) 864-3401
kamatuka@ku.edu


Kolb, Anita
Employment Services Coordinator, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
a694k480@ku.edu

LaPierre, Linda
Office Manager, McNair Scholars Program
(785) 864-9624
lapierre@ku.edu


Lawrence, Melody
Office Manager, Supportive Educational Services
(785) 864-3325
melodyl@ku.edu


Machado-Williams, Maritza
Director, APEX
(785) 864-3971
mmachado@ku.edu


Marlett, Rachel
Retention Specialist, Supportive Educational Services
(785) 864-7266
rmarlett@ku.edu

Martinez
, Lisa
Program Assistant, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823
lemartnz@ku.edu

Mendez, Stacy
Program Coordinator, Harvest of Hope Leadership Academy
(785) 864-7027
smendez@ku.edu


Morris, Pam
Budget Manager, Educational Opportunity Programs
(785) 864-2614
pmorris@ku.edu


Morgan, Kimberly
Director, Educational Opportunity Centers
(913) 233-1124
kmorgan1@ku.edu


Neinas, Caryl
Program Assistant, Educational Opportunity Centers
(913) 631-6936
cneinas@ku.edu

Negash, Mulubrhan
Director, McNair Scholars Program
(913) 342-9823
Email

O’Dell, Julia
Director, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
jodell@ku.edu


Perez, Janice
College Access Challenge Grant Coordinator, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823
jperez@ku.edu

Ramirez, Laurie
Assistant Director, Supportive Educational Services
(785) 864-3972
lramirez@ku.edu

Rice, Martha
Academic Services Coordinator, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
mrrice@ku.edu

Schaaf, Art
Recruiting and Retention Advisor, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
aschaaf@ku.edu

Schley, Lisa
Academic Advisor, Veterans Upward Bound
(913) 321-5512
lschley@ku.edu


Slappy, Zsashamica
Assistant Director, Upward Bound
(785) 864-9686
zslappy@ku.edu


Trana, Paul
Site Coordinator, GEAR UP
(913) 432-0435
ptrana@ku.edu


Villalobus, Melissa
Program Mentor, Talent Search/TRIO
(913) 342-9823
melissa1308@yahoo.com

Waller, Tonya A.
Project Coordinator, Harmon Cluster
(913) 321-5567
tawaller@ku.edu


White, Verneta L.
Site Coordinator, Washington Cluster, GEAR UP
(913) 432-0425
vlw@ku.edu

Wooten, LaCretia
Site Coordinator, Harmon Cluster
(913) 321-5567
Lacretia.wooten@ku.edu