Graduate Program in Creative Writing

English MFA Published KU Alumni Header


Amy Blackmarr
Non-fiction writer: Going to Ground
Tess Callahan
Novelist: April and Oliver
Bob Day
Fiction writer Last Cattle Drive; Speaking French in Kansas
Connie May Fowler
Novelist & memoirist: Sugar Cage; River of Hidden Dreams, Before Women Had Wings, Remembering Blue, When Katie Wakes, The Problem with Murmur Lee
Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg
Poet & essayist Animals in the House; Lot's Wife, many others
Scott Heim
Novelist: Mysterious Skin; In Awe We Disappear
Dan Hoyt
Short story writer, winner of the Juniper Prize: Then We Saw the Flames, Stories in Kenyon Review, Indiana Review, New Orleans Review; Meridian, & others
Kathleen Johnson
Poet: Burn
Ed Lee
Novelist: The Good Man
Denise Low
Poet & essayist. Poet Laureate of Kansas: Words of a Prairie Alchemist; Thailand Journal; Starwater; many others
Todd Marshall
Poet: Dare Say; Range of the Possible
Laura Moriarty
Novelist: The Center of Everything; The Rest of Her Life, While I'm Falling
Mary O'Connell
Fiction writer: Living with Saints
Kevin Rabbas
Poet: Bird's Horn and other Poems
Michael Stigman
Short story writer: Stories in South Dakota Review; Sycamore Review; 2 one 3; Agni-Online, & others
Karen Stolz
Fiction writer: World of Pies; Fanny and Sue
Amy Stuber
Short story writer: Stories in Antioch Review; Other Voices; Santa Monica Review; & others
Kellie Wells
Short story writer & novelist: Compression Sears (winner of the Flannery O'Connor Prize); Skin
Laura Wexler
Non-fiction writer: Fire in a Canebreak

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.