Sue Lunte Research Group

Sue Lunte Research Group

Sue Lunte Group 2009
Front row, left to right: Abdullah Al-Hossaini, Ryan Grigsby, Jessica Creamer,
Back row: Diogenes Meneses do Santos, Pann Pichetsunnthorn, Dr. Sue Lunte, Rachel Saylor,
Anne Regel, Simon Pfeiffer, Tom Linz, Nate Oborny, David Scott, Dulan Gunasekara

Our research group is focused on the development of sensitive and selective analytical methods for the detection of peptides, amino acids, neurotransmitters, and drugs in biological fluids. Release, transport and metabolism of these substances can be investigated in vitro using a cell culture model or in vivo using microdialysis sampling.

Due to the small sample volumes generated, column methods including liquid chromatography (LC) and capillary electrophoresis (CE) have been employed for the separation of the analytes of interest. Capillary electrophoresis is being investigated due to its ability to perform fast, highly efficient separations. Electrochemistry (EC), mass spectrometry (MS) and laser induced fluorescence (LIF) detection modes are being explored. CE can also be miniaturized to yield a portable separation-based sensor. The development of such sensors for near real time monitoring of drugs and neurotransmitters is a goal of our group.

Our research takes place at the interface between neurobiology, analytical chemistry and engineering, therefore students who work on these projects have the opportunity to learn to communicate and collaborate across these disciplines.

Current group meeting schedule

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access,, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.