Faculty

Who We Are

Our students are our highest priority. We are committed to preparing our students linguistically, academically and culturally for university life, providing services to enhance their adjustment and achievement, and advocating for ESL and international students.
Suzanne Achleitner

Suzanne Achleitner, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, Universidad de las Americas, Puebla, Mexico, 1975.

Phone: (785) 864-8158

E-mail: achleits@ku.edu

Erin Adamson

Erin Adamson, Lecturer

M.A. Latin American Studies, University of Kansas, 2007.

Phone: (785) 864-6111

E-mail: eadamson@ku.edu

Kathryn Algren

Kathryn Algren, Lecturer

M.A. ESL/Linguistics, University of Northern Iowa, 1979.

Phone: (785) 864-1310

E-mail: kalgren@ku.edu

Eada Arbab

Eada Arbab, Lecturer

Ph.D. Curriculum and Instruction/TESL, University of Kansas, 2003.

Phone: (785) 864-1795

E-mail: malak@ku.edu

Rex Armstrong

Rex Armstrong, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1987.

Phone: (785) 864-8292

E-mail: jrex58@ku.edu

Candace Bailey

Candace Bailey, Lecturer

M.S. Ed., University of Kansas, 2012; M.M. (Music), Kansas State University, 2010.

Phone: (785) 864-8296

E-mail: canb@ku.edu

Marcellino Berardo

Marcellino Berardo, Language Specialist

Ph.D. Linguistics, University of Kansas, 2000.

Phone: (785) 864-1311

E-mail: mberardo@ku.edu

Sam Billen

Sam Billen, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, University of Kansas, 2010.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: sbillen@ku.edu

Perrin Blackman

Perrin Blackman, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, Southeast Missouri State University, 2005.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: pblackman@ku.edu

Judy Bonifield

Judy Bonifield, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1990.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: judyb@ku.edu

Michelle Bruce

Michelle Bruce, Lecturer

M.A.Ed. TESOL, University of Kansas, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: mmbruce@ku.edu

Carla Buchheit

Carla Buchheit, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, Avila University, 2008.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: cbuchheit@ku.edu

Anne Burgess

Anne Burgess, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1987.

Phone: (785) 864-1304

E-mail: aburgess@ku.edu

Elizabeth Byleen

Elizabeth Byleen, Language Specialist

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1986.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: ebyleen@ku.edu

Carol Elk

Carol Elk, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, Teachers College Columbia University, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: carolelk@gmail.com

Don Englund

Don Englund, Lecturer

Ph.D. candidate TESL, University of Kansas; M.A. Linguistics, University of Kansas, 2006.

Phone: (785) 864-6110

E-mail: kemper@ku.edu

Jennifer Forth

Jennifer Forth, Lecturer

M.Ed. TESOL, SUNY Buffalo, 1994.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: jforth@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Benjamin Friedline, Lecturer

Ph.D. Applied Linguistics, University of Pittsburgh, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: bfriedline@ku.edu

Elizabeth Gould

Elizabeth Gould, Language Specialist

Ed.D. Organizational Leadership, Argosy University, 2012; M.A.Teaching of Languages, University of Southern Mississippi, 2004.

Phone: (785) 864-8288

E-mail: egould@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Marina Greene, Lecturer

M.A. Education/TESOL, University of Kansas, 2008.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: marinam@ku.edu

Martha Harris

Martha Harris, Language Specialist

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1987.

Phone: (785) 864-1302

E-mail: mharris@ku.edu

Dawn Haverkate-Ens

Dawn Haverkate-Ens, Lecturer

M.A. Applied Linguistics, California State University Fresno, 1990.

Phone: (785) 864-1325

E-mail: dhavens@ku.edu

Barbara Hermann

Barbara Hermann, Lecturer

M.A. Linguistics/TESL, Northwestern Illinois University, 1985.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: bjhermann@ku.edu

John Hestand

John Hestand, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1978.

Phone: (785) 864-6238

E-mail: jhestand@ku.edu

Tracy Hirata-Edds

Tracy Hirata-Edds, Lecturer

Ph.D. Child Language, University of Kansas, 2006; M.A. TESL, Oklahoma State University, 1989.

Phone: (785) 864-8162

E-mail: tracy@ku.edu

Jennifer Hornbaker

Jennifer Hornbaker, Graduate Teaching Assistant

M.A. candidate, TESOL (Curriculum & Instruction), University of Kansas.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: jlhrnbkr@ku.edu

Lynette Hosek

Lynette Hosek, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2007.

Phone: (785) 864-8291

E-mail: lhosek@ku.edu

Simone Huls

Simone Huls, Graduate Teaching Assistant

M.A. English/TESOL, University of Alabama in Huntsville, 2004.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: shuls@ku.edu

Sandra Issa

Sandra Issa, Language Specialist

M.A. TESOL, University of Illinois, 1991; M.A. Theoretical Linguistics, University of Illinois, 1988.

Phone: (785) 864-1313

E-mail: stompson@ku.edu

Austin Jones

Austin Jones, Graduate Teaching Assistant

B.A. East Asian Studies, University of Kansas, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: ajones04@ku.edu

David Kapusta Pofahl

David Kapusta Pofahl, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, University of Kansas, 2010.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: dkpofahl@ku.edu

Debra Karr

Debra Karr, Lecturer

Ph.D. Italian Studies, Indiana University, 1999; M.A. Second Language Acquisition, University of Kansas, 2006; M.A. Italian Studies, Indiana University, 1996.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: dkarr@ku.edu

Molly Kirk

Molly Kirk, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1986.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: kirk.molly@ku.edu

Brian Lagotte

Brian Lagotte, Lecturer

M.A. Anthropology, University of Kansas, 2006.

Phone: (785) 864-6111

E-mail: lagotte@ku.edu

Summer Marvin

Summer Marvin, Lecturer

M.A. Education, University of Kansas, 2002.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: summer@ku.edu

Katie McClintic

Katie McClintic, Lecturer

MAT in Communication with TEFL emphasis, Webster University, 2005.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: kmcclintic@ku.edu

Monica McCuiston

Monica McCuistion, Lecturer

M.A. TESL , University of Kansas, 2008.

Phone: (785) 864-8146

E-mail: momax320@ku.edu

Jacob Minniear

Jacob Minniear, Graduate Teaching Assistant

M.A. candidate TESL, University of Kansas.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: jnminniear@ku.edu

Vicki Oberzan

Vicki Oberzan, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2003.

Phone: (785) 864-1325

E-mail: vickiob@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Camille Olcese, Lecturer

M.A. English (TESOL), Portland State University, 1983.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: camolcese@ku.edu

Ryan Olesh

Ryan Olesh, Lecturer

M.Ed. TESOL, University of Western Australia, 2008.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: rmolesh@ku.edu

Kay Ornella

Kay Ornella, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2010; M.A. English, Northern Kentucky University, 1993.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: kornella4284@ku.edu

Dianna Palos

Dianna Palos, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1989.

Phone: (785) 864-6110

E-mail: dpalos@ku.edu

Dianna Palos

Samantha Parkes, Lecturer

M.A. TESOL, American University, 2009; M.A. English (Language, Literature and Composition), University of Kansas, 2004.

Phone: (785) 864-1325

E-mail: sparkes@ku.edu

Howard Pollock

Howard Pollock, Language Specialist

M.A. Applied Linguistics, Indiana University, 1981.

Phone: (785) 864-1308

E-mail: hpollock@ku.edu

Dovis Pollock

Dovis "Linda" Pollock, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2005.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: dpollock@ku.edu

Stephan Schwegler

Stephan Schwegler, Lecturer

Ed.D. International Educational Development, Teachers College Columbia University, 1982; M.A. TESOL, University of Missouri-Kansas City, 2011; M.A. Slavic and Soviet Studies, University of Kansas, 1972.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: sschwegler@ku.edu

Chuck Seibel

Chuck Seibel, Former Director

M.A. Applied Linguistics, University of Kansas, 1981.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: cseibel@ku.edu

Joshua Shireman

Joshua Shireman, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2009.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: jshire@ku.edu

Kellie Smith Herrod

Kellie Smith Herrod, Language Specialist

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1992.

Phone: (785) 864-1320

E-mail: ksherrod@ku.edu

Parul Sood

Parul Sood, Lecturer

M.S.Ed., Curriculum and Teaching (TESOL emphasis), University of Kansas, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: parulsood@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Melissa Stamer, Lecturer

Ph.D. Foreign Language Ed., University of Kansas, 2010; M.A. Linguistics, University of Kansas, 2006.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: mkstamer@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Breanna Steidley, Graduate Teaching Assistant

M.A. Linguistics, University of Kansas, 2011.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: bkrueger@ku.edu

Christine Jensen Sundstrom

Christine Sundstrom, Language Specialist

Ph.D. Cross-Cultural Rhetoric of Science, University of Kansas, 2006.

Phone: (785) 864-1322

E-mail: cjensen@ku.edu

Diane Taveggia

Diane Taveggia, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 2006.

Phone: (785) 864-7089

E-mail: dtaveg@ku.edu

Ann Tilson

Ann Tilson, Lecturer

M.A. TESL, University of Kansas, 1998; M.A. Russian and East European Studies, University of Kansas 1994.

Phone: (785) 864-1303

E-mail: atilson@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Rebecca Wilkes, Graduate Teaching Assistant

M.A. candidate TESL, University of Kansas.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: r514w613@ku.edu

Lorie Williams

Lorie Williams, Lecturer

M.A. Applied Linguistics, University of New England, 2008.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: lawilliams@ku.edu

Barbara Yoder

Barbara Yoder, Lecturer

M.A. Art History, University of Kansas 2000; M.A. Visual Arts Education, University of Kansas 1999; M.A. TESL, University of Illinois, 1985.

Phone: (785) 864-4606

E-mail: blyoder@ku.edu


The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.