Accrediting Council

ACEJMC's member organizations represent educators and professional practitioners. ACEJMC Bylaws stipulate that industry member associations may appoint at least one representative to the Accrediting Council; educator associations appoint one to six representatives depending on their size.

The Accrediting Council is composed of representatives of professional and educational organizations, and three public members. The Council president is a non-voting member.

The Accrediting Council meets twice a year. It considers accrediting decisions at a meeting in the spring; the fall meeting is devoted to policies and other considerations. The Accrediting Council makes all final accrediting decisions.


Last update 09-02-14

David Boardman, President, ACEJMC
Dean and Professor
School of Media and Communication
334A Annenberg Hall
Temple University

2020 North 13th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19122
(215)204-4822
dboardman@temple.edu
(Term expires 2016)

Doug A. Anderson, Vice President, ACEJMC
Dean Emeritus
Pennsylvania State University

Senior Research Professor
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism
and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555N. Central Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602)496-5555
daa7@psu.edu
(Term expires 2016)

Thomas Armstrong
Public Member
PO Box 2238
Davidson, NC 28036
(704)237-3747
tarmstrong79@charter.net
(Term expires 2015)

Clark Bell
Journalism Program Director
McCormick Foundation
205 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 4300
Chicago, IL 60601
(312)445-5023 Fax: (312)445-5001
clarkbell@McCormickFoundation.org
Public Member
(Term expires 2015)

Peter Bhatia,
Edith Kinney Gaylord Visiting Professor in Journalism Ethics
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
peter.bhatia@asu.edu
Representing American Society of News Editor

Dorothy Bland
Dean, Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism
Director, Frank W. Mayborn Graduate
Institute
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle, 311460
Denton, TX 76230-5017
(940)565-4917
Dorothy.bland@unt.edu
Representing Association for Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2017)

Scott Bosley
Public Member
2893 Woodgate Lane
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269)743-7817
scottcarolb@att.net

(Term expires 2016)

Douglas A. Boyd
Professor of Communication
Department of Communication
University of Kentucky
248 Grehan Building
Lexington, KY 40506-0042
(859)257-7809 Fax: (859)257-4103
boyd@email.uky.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Katherine A. Bradshaw
Chair
Department of Journalism and Public Relations
302 West Hall
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
(419)372-2542 Fax: (419)372-0202
kabrads@bgsu.edu
Representing American Journalism Historians Association

Mike Cavender
Executive Director
Radio-Television Digital News Association
National Press Building
529 14th St. NW, Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045
(770)622-7011
mikec@rtdna.org
Representing Radio-Television Digital News Association

Jerry Ceppos
Dean
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225)578-9294 Fax: (225)578-2125
jceppos@lsu.edu
Representing American Press Institute

Joie Chen
Anchor, "America Tonight"
Al Jazeera America
555 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20001

(202)292-6468
Joie.chen@aljazeera.net
Representing Asian American Journalists Association

Caryl Cooper
Associate Professor
College of Communication and
Information Sciences
University of Alabama
Box 870172
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0172
(205)348-3593 Fax: (205)348-3836
cooper@apr.ua.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communications
(Term expires 2016)

Jannette Dates
Dean Emerita
(School of Communications)
Office of the President
2395 6th St., NW
(at Howard Place)
Howard University
Washington, DC 20059
(202)806-6113 or (202)437-3399
jdates@howard.edu
Representing Black College Communication Association

Joe Foote
Dean, Edward L. Gaylord Chair
Gaylord College
University of Oklahoma
395 W. Lindsey
Norman, OK 73019
(405)325-5997 Fax: (405)325-7565
jfoote@ou.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Rochelle Ford
Chair/Professor of Public Relations
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Relations
Syracuse University
Room 318, Newhouse 3
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244
525 Bryant St., NW
rlford@syr.edu
(315)443-9347
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Constance Cannon Frazier
Chief Operating Officer
American Advertising Federation
1101 Vermont Ave. NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
(202)898-0089 Fax: (202)898-0159
cfrazier@aaf.org
Representing American Advertising Federation

Steve Geimann
Deputy Leader
U.S. Energy-Trade-Labor Regulation Team
Bloomberg News
1399 New York Ave., NW
11th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
(202)624-1960 Fax: (202)624-1358
sgeimann@bloomberg.net
Representing Society of Professional Journalists

Timothy W. Gleason
Special Assistant to the Provost
Professor of Journalism
Faculty Athletics Representative
University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1275
(541)346-3739
tgleason@uoregon.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2017)

Don Grady
Associate Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5667 Fax: (336)278-5734
gradyd@elon.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2015)

Mark Hass
mark.hass@gbllc.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America
Inc.

Joanna Hernandez
Director of Career Services
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
City University of New York
219 W. 40th St.
New York, NY 10018
(646)758-7732
joanna.hernandez@journalism.cuny.edu
Representing National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Jackie Jones
Newsroom Consultant
(Jones Coaching LLC)
6500 7th Place NW
Washington, DC 20012
(202)291-5959 or (202)271-6890
jjones5647@aol.com
Representing National Association
of Black Journalists

Pam Luecke
Reynolds Professor of Business Journalism
Department of Journalism and Mass Communications
Washington and Lee University
Lexington, VA 24450
(540)458-8435
lueckep@wlu.edu
Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2015)

Carol J. Pardun
Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
Carolina Coliseum
Columbia, SC 29208
(803)777-4979 Fax: (803)777-4103
pardunc@mailbox.sc.edu
Representing the Association for Education
in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2015)

Paul Parsons
Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5724
Fax: (336)278-5734
parsons@elon.edu
Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2017)

Judy Phair
President
PhairAdvantage Communications, LLC
8421 Cherry Laurel Court
Laurel, MD 20723
(240)786-6624 or (202)903-3227
jphair@PhairAdvantage.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Raul Reis
Dean
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Florida International University
3000 NE 151 St.
Academic 2, Suite 335

North Miami, FL 33181
(305)919-5674 Fax: (305)919-5203
rfreis@fiu.edu

Representing the Association of Schools
of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2016)

Patricia Rose
Executive Director
American Academy of Advertising
831 Langdon
831 Fearrington Post
Pittsboro, NC 27312
(786)393-3333 Fax: (866)607-8512
rosep@fiu.edu
Representing American Academy of Advertising

Ward White
Strategy Officer
Edelman
1201 Louisiana 830
Houston, TX 77002
(713)970-2110
ward.white@edelman.com
Representing Arthur W. Page Society

Fred Young
Senior Vice President, News (Retired)
Hearst Television Inc.
189 Fillmore Way
Yardley, PA 19067
(215)337-9324 or (917)763-8306
fred.young@outlook.com
Representing National Association of
Broadcasters Education Foundation

Return to ACEJMC Main Menu