Accrediting Council

ACEJMC's member organizations represent educators and professional practitioners. ACEJMC Bylaws stipulate that industry member associations may appoint at least one representative to the Accrediting Council; educator associations appoint one to six representatives depending on their size.

The Accrediting Council is composed of representatives of professional and educational organizations, and three public members. The Council president is a non-voting member.

The Accrediting Council meets twice a year. It considers accrediting decisions at a meeting in the spring; the fall meeting is devoted to policies and other considerations. The Accrediting Council makes all final accrediting decisions.


Last update 11-20-13

Peter Bhatia, President, ACEJMC
Editor and Vice President
The Oregonian
1320 S.W. Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
(503)221-8393 Fax: (503)294-5012
Email: pbhatia@oregonian.com
(Term expires 2014)

Doug A. Anderson, Vice President, ACEJMC
Dean
College of Communications
Pennsylvania State University
201 Carnegie Building
University Park, PA 16802
(814)863-1484 Fax: (814)863-8044
Email: doug-anderson@psu.edu
(Term expires 2016)

Thomas Armstrong
Public Member
PO Box 2238
Davidson, NC 28036
(704)237-3747
Email: tarmstrong79@charter.net
(Term expires 2015)

Marianne Barrett
Senior Associate Dean
and Louise Solheim Professor
Walter Cronkite School
of Journalism and Mass Communication
555 N. Central Ave.
Arizona State University
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602)496-6612
E-mail: Marianne@asu.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication

(Term expires 2014)

Clark Bell
Journalism Program Director
McCormick Foundation
205 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 4300
Chicago, IL 60601
(215)445-5023 Fax: (312)445-5001
Email: clarkbell@McCormickFoundation.org
Public Member
(Term expires 2015)

David Boardman
Dean
School of Media and Communication
Temple University
Annenberg Hall

2020 North 13th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19122-6080
(215)204-4822
Email: dboardman@temple.edu
Representing American Society of News Editor


Scott Bosley
Public Member
2893 Woodgate Lane
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269)743-7817
Email: scottcarolb@att.net

(Term expires 2016)

Douglas A. Boyd
Professor of Communication
Department of Communication
University of Kentucky
248 Grehan Building
Lexington, KY 40506-0042
(859)257-7809 Fax: (859)257-4103
Email: boyd@email.uky.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Katherine A. Bradshaw
Chair
Department of Journalism and Public Relations
302 West Hall
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
(419)372-2542 Fax: (419)372-0202
Email: kabrads@bgsu.edu
Representing American Journalism Historians Association

Ann Brill
William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications
1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045-7515
(785)864-4755 Fax: (785)864-4396
Email: abrill@ku.edu
Representing Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2014)

Jerry Ceppos
Dean
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225)578-9294 Fax: (225)578-2125
Email: jceppos@lsu.edu
Representing American Press Institute

Joie Chen
Anchor, "America Tonight"
Al Jazeera America
555 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20001

(202)292-6468
Email: Joie.chen@aljazeera.net
Representing Asian American Journalists Association

Barbara Cochran
Curtis B. Hurley Chair
of Public Service Journalism
University of Missouri School of Journalism
National Press Building
529 14th St. NW, Suite 425
Washington, DC 20045
(202)662-7159
Email: cochranb@missouri.edu
Representing Radio-Television Digital News Association

Caryl Cooper
Associate Professor
College of Communication and
Information Sciences
University of Alabama
Box 870172
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0172
(205)348-3593 Fax: (205)348-3836
Email: cooper@asu.edu
Representing Association for Education
in Journalism ad Mass Communications
(Term expires 2016)

Jannette Dates
Dean Emerita
(School of Communications)
Office of the President
2395 6th St., NW
(at Howard Place)
Howard University
Washington, DC 20059
(202)806-6113 or (202)437-3399
Email: jdates@howard.edu
Representing Black College Communication Association

Joe Foote
Dean, Edward L. Gaylord Chair
Gaylord College
University of Oklahoma
395 W. Lindsey
Norman, OK 73019
(405)325-5997 Fax: (405)325-7565
Email: jfoote@ou.edu
Representing Broadcast Education Association

Rochelle Ford
Associate Dean for Research and Academic Affairs
School of Communications
Howard University
525 Bryant St., NW
Washington, DC 20059
(202)806-6528
Email: rocford@howard.edu
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Constance Cannon Frazier
Chief Operating Officer
American Advertising Federation
1101 Vermont Ave. NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
(202)898-0089 Fax: (202)898-0159
Email: cfrazier@aaf.org
Representing American Advertising Federation

Steve Geimann
Deputy Leader
U.S. Energy-Trade-Labor Regulation Team
Bloomberg News
1399 New York Ave., NW
11th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
(202)624-1960 Fax: (202)624-1358
Email: sgeimann@bloomberg.net
Representing Society of Professional Journalists

Don Grady
Associate Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5667 Fax: (336)278-5734
Email: gradyd@elon.edu
Representing Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires: 2015)

Mark Hass
President and CEO
Edelman U.S.
250 Hudson St., 14th Floor
New York City, NY 10013
(212)729-2157 Fax: (212)704-0117
Email: mark.hass@edelman.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America
Inc.

Joanna Hernandez
Director, Career Services
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
City University of New York
219 W. 40th St.
New York, NY 10018
joanna.hernandez@journalism.cuny.edu
Representing National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Jackie Jones
Newsroom Consultant
(Jones Coaching LLC)
6500 7th Place NW
Washington, DC 20012
(202)291-5959 or (202)271-6890
Email: jjones5647@aol.com
Representing National Association
of Black Journalists

Pam Luecke
Department Head
Department of Journalism and Mass Communications
Washington and Lee University
Lexington, VA 24450
(540)458-8435 Fax: (540)458-8845
Email: lueckep@wlu.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2015)

Paul Parsons
Dean
School of Communications
2850 Campus Box
Elon University
Elon, NC 27244
(336)278-5724
Fax: (336)278-5734
Email: parsons@elon.edu
Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2014)


Carol J. Pardun
Director
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
Carolina Coliseum
Columbia, SC 29208
(803)777-4979 Fax: (803)777-4103
Email: pardunc@mailbox.sc.edu
Representing the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2015)

Judy Phair
President
PhairAdvantage Communications, LLC
8421 Cherry Laurel Court
Laurel, MD 20723
(240)786-6624
Email: jphair@PhairAdvantage.com
Representing Public Relations Society of America Inc.

Raul Reis
Dean
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Florida International University
3000 NE 151 St.
Academic 2, Suite 335

North Miami, FL 33181
(305)919-5674 Fax: (305)919-5203
Email: rfreis@fiu.edu

Representing the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication
(Term expires 2016)

Patricia Rose
Executive Director
American Academy of Advertising
831 Langdon
831 Fearrington Post
Pittsboro, NC 27312
(786)393-3333 Fax: (866)607-8512
Email: rosep@fiu.edu
Representing American Academy of Advertising

Ward White
Strategy Officer
Edelman
1201 Louisiana 830
Houston, TX 77002
(262)844-5275
Email: ward.white@edelman.com
Representing Arthur W. Page Society

Fred Young
Senior Vice President, News (Retired)
Hearst Television Inc.
300 W. 57th Street, 39th Floor
New York, NY 10019
(917)763-8306
E-mail: fred.young@outlook.com
Representing National Association of
Broadcasters Education Foundation

Return to ACEJMC Main Menu