Accrediting Committee to meet in Chicago

Twenty-three schools and four re-visits will be reviewed at the Accrediting Committee meeting Saturday and Sunday, March 13 and 14, in Chicago at the Westin Hotel, 909 N. Michigan Ave. The meeting will begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday in the hotel's Mayfair Room and adjourn about 4:30 p.m. The meeting resumes Sunday and will end by noon. More than 50 observers plan to attend, in addition to Committee members and team chairs.

Following is the review schedule. This schedule is tentative because it is impossible to determine the length of discussion for each school.

Schedule of Reviews / Team Chairs

Saturday, March 13
1. Southern Illinois, Carbondale --Trevor Brown
2. San Francisco State -- Trevor Brown
3. Pontificia Universidad Chile -- Trevor Brown
4. Califorrnia State, Northridge -- Trevor Brown
5. Miami -- Tom Kunkel
6. California State, Chico -- Jerry Ceppos
7. Buffalo State -- Beth Barnes
8. Marquette -- Beth Barnes
9. North Texas -- Ann Brill

10. Iowa State -- Paul Parsons
11. Texas Christian -- Paul Parsons
12. Syracuse -- Doug Anderson
13. Wisconsin, Oshkosh -- Dulcie Straughan
14. West Virginia -- Charles Edwards
15. Ball State -- Richard Cole
16. North Carolina A&T -- Kit Rushing
17. Bowling Green State -- Barbara Hines
18. Arksansas
-- Barbara Hines

Sunday, March 14
1. Murray State -- Judy VanSlyke Turk
2. Southern Mississippi -- Judy VanSlyke Turk
3. Alaska, Fairbanks -- Will Norton
4. S. Florida, St. Petersburg -- Chris Callahan

5. Howard -- Carla Lloyd
6. Western Kentucky -- Carla Lloyd
7. Temple -- Pam Luecke
8. Louisiana State -- Pam Luecke
9. Maryland -- Pam Luecke

Council member killed in accident; scholarship established

Accrediting Council member Deborah Howell was struck by a car and killed Jan. 2 while vacationing in New Zealand with her husband, C. Peter Magrath. The 68-year-old former newspaper editor was the American Society of News Editors’ representative to the Council. She was appointed to the position in 2008.

Howell had an extensive journalism career and is recognized as one of the first women to become a top editor at a large newspaper, serving as managing editor and then executive editor at The Pioneer Press. In 1990, Howell became chief of the Washington bureau for Newhouse newspapers and from 2005 to 2008 was ombudsman of The Washington Post. She resided in Washington, D.C.

Howell’s family has established a scholarship in her name at the University of Texas Austin for a woman student majoring in journalism and entering the sophomore year. Howell graduated from the University of Texas in 1962. Memorial contributions can be made to Texas Exes Scholarships, PO Box 7278, Austin, TX 78713. Donors should note in the memo section: Deborah C. Howell Memorial Scholarship for Women in Journalism. Online contributions also can be made at the university’s Web site.
return to top

Member and program updates

Peter Bhatia, ACEJMC president, has been named editor of The Oregonian. He succeeds Sandra Mims Rowe, who retired from the paper at the end of 2009. Bhatia joined The Oregonian in 1993 and was named executive editor by Rowe in 1997. Bhatia was elected as Council president in 2007. Before that, he served two terms on the Accrediting Committee.

Amber Kinser is the new chair of the Department of Communication at East Tennessee State University. She replaces Charles Roberts, who retired from that position in January.
return to top

Meetings calendar

Accrediting Committee
March 13-14, 2010
Westin Hotel on Michigan Avenue


Accrediting Council
April 30 – May 1, 2010
Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel
801 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, Va.
Hotel information will be sent in March

2010-2011 Site Visit Schedule
The Council will send 24 site visit teams to schools in the 2010-2011 academic year. Schools marked with an asterisk seek initial accreditation. In addition, four schools will have re-visits.
Visit Date
Oct. 10-13
University of Iowa
University of Colorado
Oct. 17-20
University of Kansas
Oct. 24-27
Colorado State University
University of Nebraska
Oct. 31-Nov.3
Southeast Missiouri State University
Middle Tennessee State University
Nov. 7-10
St. Cloud State University
Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Bowie State University*
Nov. 14-17
Roosevelt University*
Grambling State University
Jan. 23-26
University of Southern California
Shippensburg University*
Norfolk State University
Jan. 30-Feb. 2
Northwestern University
University of Puerto Rico at Rio Piedras*
Feb. 6-9
Arizona State University
University of Missouri
Feb. 13-16
Drake University
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Feb. 20-23
University of Mississippi
University of South Carolina
New Mexico State University
Central Michigan University
University of Wisconsin/Eau Claire
Iona College
Jackson State University

return to top

Vol. 17 #1, Feb. 2010



Schools undergoing
review by Council:


-- Receive invitation from ACEJMC to attend April 30-May 1 Council meeting at the Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel in Arlington, Va. Attendance by administrators recommended, but not required.
-- Receive billing for the site team chair’s expenses to the March 2010 Committee meeting.

-- Before the April 2010 Council meeting, payment due for team chair’s expenses while presenting the school report at the March Accrediting Committee.

-- Notification letter received from the Council on accrediting decision.
-- Appeal of the decision must be made within 30 days of the notification letter.

Schools working
on the self-study:


-- Receive invitation from ACEJMC to attend and observe the April 30-May 1 Council meeting at the Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel in Arlington, Va.


Newsletter of the Accrediting Council on Education
Journalism and Mass Communications

Vol. 17, No. 1, February 2010

President, Accrediting Council
Peter Bhatia
Executive Editor, The Oregonian
1320 S.W. Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
(503) 221-8393; Fax (503) 294-5012

Vice President, Accrediting Council
Jannette Dates
Dean, John H. Johnson School of Communications
525 Bryant St. NW
Howard University
Washington, D.C. 20059
(202) 806-7694; Fax (202) 232-8040

Chair, Accrediting Committee
Pam Luecke
Donald W. Reynolds Professor of Business Journalism
Department of Journalism and Mass Communications
Washington and Lee University
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 458-8435; Fax (540) 458-8845

Vice Chair, Accrediting Committee
Carla Lloyd
Associate Dean of Scholarly & Creative Activity
School of Public Communications
Syracuse University
215 University Place
Syracuse, NY 13244-2100
(315) 443-2305; Fax (315) 443-3946

Executive Director
Susanne Shaw
Stauffer-Flint Hall
1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045 - 7575
(785) 864-3986

Assistant to the Executive Director
Cindy Reinardy
Stauffer-Flint Hall
1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045 - 7575
(785) 864-7640

Office Staff
Cheryl Klug
Stauffer-Flint Hall
1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045 - 7575
(785) 864-3973

Council Web site: